Created 11-Nov-13
23 photos

Located in the New Forest, formerly the 13th century Great Gatehouse of Beaulieu Abbey, Palace House is set in glorious grounds and gardens with immaculate spreading lawns and walkways overlooking the Beaulieu River. This charming house, kept in the style of its later Victorian additions, has been in Lord Montagu's family ownership since 1538, when Sir Thomas Wriothesley, later 1st Earl of Southampton, bought the Estate after the Dissolution of the Monasteries. The monastic origins of the House are much in evidence.

Cistercian monks founded Beaulieu Abbey in 1204, on land given to them by King John. Much of the Abbey was destroyed during the reign of Henery Vlll

The Fulling Mill

The Fulling Mill

The Fulling Mill

The Fulling Mill

The Fulling Mill

The Fulling Mill

Beaulieu Abbey

Beaulieu Abbey

Beaulieu Abbey Gateway

Beaulieu Abbey Gateway

Beaulieu Abbey Gateway

Beaulieu Abbey Gateway

Beaulieu Abbey/The Lane

Beaulieu Abbey/The Lane

Beaulieu Abby - The Choir Monks Refectory-Parish Church

Beaulieu Abby - The Choir Monks Refectory-Parish Church

Beaulieu Abby - The Choir Monks Refectory/Parish Church

Beaulieu Abby - The Choir Monks Refectory/Parish Church

Beaulieu Abbey - The Domus

Beaulieu Abbey - The Domus

Beaulieu Abbey - The Domus

Beaulieu Abbey - The Domus

Beaulieu Abbey - The Cloisters

Beaulieu Abbey - The Cloisters

Beaulieu Abbey - Chapter House

Beaulieu Abbey - Chapter House

Beaulieu Abbey - Vestry

Beaulieu Abbey - Vestry

SOE Memorial

SOE Memorial

SOE Memorial

SOE Memorial

Beaulieu Abbey - View across the Cloisters

Beaulieu Abbey - View across the Cloisters

Beaulieu Abbey - High Altar

Beaulieu Abbey - High Altar

Beaulieu Abbey

Beaulieu Abbey

Beaulieu Abbey

Beaulieu Abbey

Categories & Keywords
Category:
Subcategory:
Subcategory Detail:
Keywords: